ABC Friends NSW & ACT

ABC Friends NSW & ACT

Join ABC Friends NSW & ACT

ABC Friends NSW & ACT - get involved!

ABC Friends NSW & ACT was established in 1976 to defend the ABC against funding cuts by the Coalition government of the day. Since then, the Friends has defended the ABC against threats from both Labor and Coalition governments to compromise its independence and reduce its funding. For more information see our Vision Statement and Constitution.

To achieve our aims we:

  • make submissions to government
  • lobby individual members of parliament
  • provide informed comment about the ABC to the media
  • hold discussions with the ABC Managing Director and Chairman of the Board
  • address community groups
  • organise activities in support of the ABC
  • provide opportunities to socialise with like-minded people
  • encourage members to make their views about the ABC known to their Federal Member of Parliament
  • provide facilitation for members to engage with their local Federal MP

There are local branches of ABC Friends in many areas of NSW and the ACT.  Contact your local branch if you want to become involved at a local level.

Contact us

Enquiries: [email protected]
Postal Address: PO Box 1391 North Sydney NSW 2059
Facebook: @abcfriendsnsw  

ABC Friends NSW & ACT 2023 Committee

  • Dr Tess Howers (President)
  • Cassandra Parkinson (Vice President)
  • Peter Lindenmayer (Secretary)
  • Sharon Ooi (Treasurer)
  • Margaret Whealy (Public Officer)
  • Janine Kitson
  • Ross McGowen
  • Gia Metherell
  • Jenny Trowse
  • Bruce Stevenson
  • Mal Hewitt
  • Carmel McCallum
  • Jennie Hicks
  • Sue Noske
  • Jan Febey
  • Paul Reid